Participating teams
  1. IITGN Suraksha: Security services 
  2. IITGN Rakhrakhav: Maintenance services 
  3. IITGN Urja: Mess services
  4. IITGN Sahyog: Office boys 
  5. IITGN Swachhata: Housekeeping services 
  6. IITGN Aavagaman: Drivers 
  7. IITGN Tandurast: Horticulture, groundsmen and Canara Bank staff 
  8. IITGN Sab ka Sath Sab ka Vikas: Hostel facility services, shop employees and laundry staff, etc.

Camaraderie, glee and enthusiasm filled the spirits of IITGN support staff members when they took to field during the much-sought-after annual sports event – Disha Cup. Around 130 players from the institute’s outsourced workforce actively participated in the fourth edition of the tournament organised during June 22-23.

Disha Cup is an initiative of Physical Education Section of IITGN. It serves as a platform for the service providers to display their skills in the nationa’s favourite sport – cricket. Mr P K Chopra, registrar and Prof D P Roy, senior visiting faculty inaugurated the tournament. The objective of the tournament is to encourage sportsmanship, inculcate team spirit and promote healthy competition among the participants, therefore shaping their personality and grooming their hidden talent in the sport.

After three days of interesting game on the ground, IITGN Tandurast emerged as the wineer of the tournament. It won the final match by five wickets while IITGN Sahyog became the runner-up. Outstanding players were awarded with different titles for their performance. Scoring a whopping 50 runs off only 20 balls, Mr Jagmal from IITGN Tandurast was declared Man of the Match. Mr Dashrat D from IITGN Sahyog won dual titles of Man of the Series and Best Bowler. Mr Rohit Thakor from IITGN Sahyog was honoured as the Best Batsman.